Copyright © https://mongoose-os.com

Mongoose OS Forum

frame

How to convert int to string?

I need to prepare a request string for Thingspeak MQTT API. The content of the published message needs to follow old Thingspeak GET request rules:
"field1=123&field2=332&field3=222"
I want to fill the numeric part with values returned from mJS calls - for example, ADC.read(36), or ESP32.temp() - those calls return FFI-ed int's.
Implicit conversion fails with error, ESP32.temp().toString() also does not work.
So I have no idea how to achieve this in the JS code. The only way that I see now is to create new C FFI functions that returns "char*" results - so I could make the conversion in the C using sprintf() or friends.
Is there something that I am missing? Maybe this could be achieved in some JS API lib, liks "string_utils.js" - but I am not that good at JS to create one myself.

Comments

• SergeySergey Dublin, Ireland

Use JSON.stringify()

• Hi. Related to this question, what's the recommended way to convert a number to a string with a fixed number of digits after the decimal point?

• mamuespmamuesp Germany/Northern coast

JSON.stringify(Math.round(number * 100.0) / 100.0); e.g. for two digits.

I'n not sure if Math.round() exists, you may use Math.floor() instead.

Thanked by 1Sergey
  • Under Mongoose OS that gives results like "26.900000" or "27" - it successfully rounds, but the stringify() does not produce a fixed number of digits after the decimal point.

(So far the only way I have to solve the problem is to produce two strings - one before and one after the decimal point - but considering the nature of many of the applications of Mongoose OS I feel that there must be a better solution that I've not thought of.)

• SergeySergey Dublin, Ireland
    edited September 30

mjs does not provide toFixed . It probably should. Feel free to add.

As a workaround, I think you can FFI sprintf and format the way you want.